School Board

In 2015, Allendale Primary School became an Independent Public School. A school board was established 2015.

The Allendale Primary School Board consists of parent members, community members and Department of Education employees. Parent members bring their experience as parents and the views and context of the wider community. Community members bring particular skills to the School Board, for example: business, accounting or building skills etc.

The School Board's role is one of setting the long-term future for the school and maintaining oversight of the school's operation. It is about providing additional expertise to help the school achieve the best outcomes for the students.

In general terms, the Allendale Primary School Board

  • works within the Department of Education’s relevant legislation and regulations
  • contributes to the School Delivery and Performance Agreement and the Business Plan
  • endorses and reviews the annual budget
  • assists with the formulation of Codes of Conduct
  • reviews the performance of the school
  • creates interest in the school within and across the community
  • assists with principal selection when a vacancy arises
  • approves fees, charges, contributions and items of personal use such as booklists
  • approve extra cost optional components of programs
  • approves arrangements for sponsorship or advertising
  • liaises with the other committees within the school like the P&C
  • holds one open meeting each year to report to the school community
  • provides advice to the principal on religious education and related activities

The School Board endorses the following Business Plan:

2021-2023 Business Plan

With the exception of the Principal, members of the School Board are elected for a period of three years.  The School Board meets twice a term.

The School Board members for 2021 are:

  • Board Chair: Mrs Lilly Robson
  • Principal: Mr Chad Barnes
  • Minute Secretary: Mrs Margaret Pollett
  • Parent Representatives: Mr Guy Isbister,  Ms Rochelle Funneman, Mr Bradley Wills, Mrs Leah Pettit and Ms Stacy Stewart
  • Staff Representatives: Ms Stephanie Briggs-Killick, Mr James Baker, Mrs Margaret Pollett and Mrs Bev Drage